Lights, Camera, and Action!

Over the past 15 years I’ve thought of different ways to show Trans visibility, because 15 years ago I realised our Trans community are more than worthy to be on cover magazines, walking in fashion shows, to have leading acting role, be in commercials, have a record deal, to be a principal, to be a CEO, represent our birth country for world wide sports, to host events and tv shows and mainstream radio and etc.

I started my first youtube channel Labelle Rock in 2010 then another channel Miss Katalyna in 2014 all for Transvisibility.

My social media pages has always been about showing my Trans visibility, because I wanted people to see that individually we are different, as the media always likes to brush us with the same brush.

Generally I am Shy and Private but with all that’s going on and the damage that’s been done to my Trans community, we have found it hard for people to take us seriously, hence why my Trans visibility is really important.

Having these social media pages was to allow people to make their own informed decisions instead of basing it on second hand information or Chinese whispers. This is so they can see through me, who I am and what I stand for as a proud Transwoman of colour.

3 years ago I signed up to a online Agency, that host jobs for those interested in the film industry such as actors, extras, directors as well as djs and models.

I signed up to show Trans visibility and also to fill the gap for people of colour in media, film and television, which has been lacking in Australia.

In my first year I was cast in many short films as a Extra and also featured in a few Music clip and audition for my first speaking role and got that part, and I also audition for a role for Transwoman and got that part, which I had blast. I enjoyed meeting new people and learning about the industry. I’ve been in over 25 films and most of them I’ve never seen, but I don’t really care to be honest.

I’ve woken to realize that the film industry is really not my thing plus I’ve never been paid and for the most I believe that is unfair to all other actresses and actors and extras etc. My thing is if you can’t afford to pay people to work on your project don’t start one! I never ever did it to boost my ego or brand because i don’t have either. I did it because I wanted a person of color to be cast in films but it was taking a tool on me it just was not something I was passionate about and wanted to continue doing.

A friend of mine that I’ve known over 10 years cast me in his online reality show Project VIP based on his life as a up and coming entertainment promoter. I was cast with 2 other guys which I had never met, I was happy with how things were going and signed my first contract. Several months later there was a call out to have more people cast in the show. A close friend of mine was cast in the show and months later I met with one of the writers to discuss how she was going to write me in. Months went by and then finally I received a script and instantly I was not happy, it went from unscripted to scripted. I was not happy at all with anything and our lives were about to become fiction but it was written we were going to appear as rivals instead being show our Authentic friendship on film.

It was so disappointing but WOW a light bolt moment appeared and I realized something I have always known which was reality TV is all just set up. It’s designed to have drama because that’s what people want to see because that tv producers have created for viewers. They know drama is what most people are into. So after receiving the script I decided to leave the show and it was the best thing I had ever done.

I LOVE watching reality tv shows, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I want to be in it. Having to separate what is reality and what isn’t, helped me come to that realisation about wanting full control, which is completely different to a “control freak”

Producers will try to create something out of nothing or create something that’s not even necessary as a means to exploit you without you even knowing. This is why Reality TV is extremely popular.

I know what I just said sounds like Contradiction, but everyone that’s part of Reality TV especially cast members, need to decide is this for them or not and how will this impact their life as the world will not only be watching but judging you also.I watch reality tv mainly for the comedy part of it, the drama I can do without.

I just didn’t see the point anymore in me being in front of a camera and allowing producers to dictate what they want or how they want to portray me.

I’ve been offered many auditions and asked to be in various of shows and commercials but I decided I really need to think it through before I do what I use to do, which was just saying yes to everyone and saying no can seem like a missed opportunity but for me it meant taking control.

At one point I wanted to be an Actress but it was just a phase. When I was given my first acting role in a short film called “Carmen” I thought maybe this is my calling? but i had such a great time in the my first audition, 30 minutes after leaving my first audition the director called me on the mobile and said I got the part. We had several rehearsals and then the film was put on hold. To be honest there was tension between me and the main character and I didn’t feel comfortable with him, as I did with the director and producer who were both amazing. Not sure if he was Transphobic or Racist but he was one or the other.

From now on I’m only saying yes, if I feel it’s right for me. Because I’m not in it for fame or validation, I’m in it to bring awareness to people who otherwise may have never met a trans person before and that’s always been my goal for the past 15 years.

But I have actually left the film industry and I am no longer active or seeking to be in any film unless it serves a good purpose.

I will say my most recent filming was when I did my first ever fashion catwalk for the high end fashion label GunShy. It was a theatrical fashion show a red riding hood inspired show directed by John Paul Hussey. The show was also filmed and will be part of a documentary based on the head designer Kathryn Jamieson .

Kathryn had put a call out for models and she has always been about Inclusion and Diversity in her fashion label featuring women and men of colour and those from the LGBT community. A friend of mine Matt aka Kindred Surprise who was a personal friend of Kathryn recommended me and there I was on the runway not only as a Person of Colour but a Transwoman, Plus Size and a former sex worker. I was all things most high end fashion designers would turn their nose down on. And we pulled off an amazing one of kind fashion show.

Categories Uncategorized
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close