Global Indigenous Runway Show 2019

I acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land where I sat, I pay respect to their Elders – past, present and emerging – and acknowledge the important role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people continue to play within the community.

Last nights Indigenous Global Runway fashion show for me personally was beyond my expectation.

This was the night of my Life and I was living!

I know typically your suppose to sit there and be quiet but sorry but not really sorry I was shouting, screaming, doing my own standing ovation because I was just one Proud MF!

Being immersed and surrounded by POC who were the Designers, Models, Entertainment, Ushers and Directors and Producers of the show, made me so extremely proud and so inspired.

There were Aboriginal designers, Filipino designers, Native American Designers, Samoan Designers, and Maori Designers that showed case their love and pride for their culture through their craftsmanship.

There were a handful of performances that made the night that extra special.

The opening was done by Aboriginal Artist and Performer Mitch Tambo and special performance by Grace Vanilau, The Spirit of the Islands and many others.

This wasn’t about trying to be on that high end fashion level, with non indigenous designers, this was a night of sharing and bringing awareness by sharing a platform on a global level with our people who are constantly looked down on in the fashion industry, simply because the colour of our skin, our flat nose, our Afro, and our curves.

I can not wait for next year!!

I’m already super excited of what’s to come next year.

Here I am with Tony Fretton from the Lgbt Pasefika Group VIKA, The stunning Grace Vanilau who performed that night and the beautiful Amao Leota Lu Speaker and Performer.

Down below but not too low, is one big happy brown family lol, we managed to get a picture of the founder of The Spirit of Islands dance group and who showed cased his own collection Lavashe Couture that night, the man himself Tito Schmidt Stowers.

Pictured left to right, Tony Fretton, Sasja Sÿdeck, Me, Tito Schmidt Stowers and Amao Leota Lu.

I grew up not feeling proud of my brown features and my brown skin and to have all that Celebrated last night only reminded me I’m beautiful just the way I am.

You can stay informed of what’s to come by following the official Global Indigenous Runway Facebook page here:

https://www.facebook.com/globalindigenousmanagement/

THANK YOU!!! Global Indigenous Runway for showing all the kids watching last night that they too are more than good enough and they too can achieve anything.

Categories Uncategorized
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close